Rucheli's Writings

Readings, Ramblings, and Religious Rantings

Rosh Chodesh Elul August 10, 2010

Filed under: My Blog — rucheli @ 10:09 pm
Tags: ,

Ahhh … Elul. That time for love and return and repentance and charity and begging for anything but severity for the coming year. What a spiritually intense time! My birthday is coming up… Ches Elul (8th of Elul). So on top of the spiritual responsibilities of Elul, I have the additional responsibilities of making my birthday the most productive day possible from an observance standpoint. Extra davening (praying), extra learning, and extra tzedakah (charity). Luckily I’ve been planning for the extra tzedakah for a while, and I have a great plan up my sleeve 🙂 More details on that later, I don’t want to ruin the surprise yet.

But in any case, the month of Elul is the beginning of the prep for the High Holy Days in Tishrei. Scripture teaches us that this is the month when “the King is in the field”, meaning that G-d makes it easier for us to return to Him because instead of having to search, He’s right here waiting for us to just turn around. Elul is also an acronym for “Ani L’Dodi V’Dodi Li”, but if you want to know more about that, you’ll have to read my post on the Teshuvah Network 😉

 

Leave a Reply

