Rucheli's Writings

Readings, Ramblings, and Religious Rantings

First Day Working From Home! August 13, 2010

Filed under: My Blog — rucheli @ 5:58 pm
Tags:

Well, today was my first day “working from home” and I could definitely get used to this!

I needed to come down to South Florida for a doctor’s appointment today. Long story, but basically I’ve been having back issues and I’m not covered by insurance anywhere but the tri-county SoFla area, so here I am. And it was a waste of time. But on the plus side, I’ll be here when Lauren gets home from DCI World Championships.

The other positive side to being in SoFla today was that it gave me a chance to see what working remotely is going to be like. Not bad! 🙂 I have my new laptop that is all set up to connect into work’s network (I love IT!) and I could do a lot of what I needed without any problems. Not only that, I could print straight to the office, so then one of the interns would go get it from the printer and drop it off to my boss for me 🙂 Pretty nice!

Confused about what I’m talking about? Let me fill you in:

I GET TO KEEP WORKING WHILE I’M IN ISRAEL!!!!

So exciting, isn’t it? I’m a very very lucky person, and I’ve somehow managed to keep my job while leaving the country. While I’m in seminary, I’ll be in classes during the morning and evenings… then in the later afternoon during our break, and again later at night if I need to, I’ll be working on my laptop! This basically means that I’ll be able to pay off my trip and schooling while I’m still living there and come hope without (too much) debt!

If today was any indication of what it’s going to be like working while I’m there, I think I’ll be just fine 😉

 

Leave a Reply

